On catching clients with food

I swear this is a serious post

This post is based on a NaBloPoMo prompt: If you could connect one-on-one with one expert, what would you want to learn?

On the professional side

With my business in mind, I would like to connect with a communication and marketing expert who could teach me everything I need to know – and do – before I approach potential clients. Some general advice relevant to my situation would be nice, for starters – but I think a hands-on approach would work best. I have read so much on this topic that I shouldn’t need anyone to hold my hand, but somehow applying what I have learnt isn’t as easy as one may think.

One of the things I wish I had learnt in college is how to get your first clients – and I don’t mean how to write CVs and cover letters or even prepare for interviews. I mean how to approach professionals from my field who could use my services and how to convince them to take me seriously and give me a chance. If I know I can do a great job, that’s awesome, but how can I get them to trust me on that? I have yet to figure out how to do so without having to lie about my experience.

On the personal side

As I mentioned in a previous post, I would love to become a cooking and nutrition expert. I enjoy cooking but I tend to choose tasty over healthy when I know all my meals could be both with some efforts on my part. And while I like to try new recipes from time to time, coming up with one’s own recipes is much more satisfying – especially when we get to make them for the people we love.

If I had to be more specific, I think an expert in vegetarian cuisine would be best. In my experience, vegetarians and vegans tend to know a lot more about nutrition than “omnivores” if I may call us so. Most of the people I know don’t pay much attention to what they eat, and when they do, they often make their food-related decisions based on what they have heard in the news or read online, instead of gathering facts and coming to their own conclusions. I would really like not to be the same!

How about combining the two?

As I already explained, lying isn’t something I enjoy doing, nor something I am good at, so pretending to have more experience or be anything else than what I am is out of the question. But it isn’t the only way to become successful. If I want to stand out from the crowd, maybe it is time for me to put everything I have read aside and think out of the box.

Now that I think of it, maybe food could become my unique selling proposition! I could invite potential clients over and use delicate meals to persuade them to hire me – regardless of whether their linguistic needs have anything to do with food. Or I could launch the first interpreting and catering service – allowing me to feed my clients’ foreign guests and interpret for them! All right, enough nonsense for today… Although it doesn’t sound so silly on my screen as it did in my head!

Featured image:

One thought on “On catching clients with food

  1. Pingback: New to the neighbourhood – First-week NaBloPoMo roundup | Keeping Track

Let me know what you think!

