Weekly report #001 – So I accidentally took holidays…

…or so one may think from this report

This first week was completely unlike what I had planned. I did my best to be productive but there was no work-work involved – as in “no marketing efforts, no job hunting, nor anything that might have earned me some money”. I found out something disturbing about my sleep and spent too much time watching TV. On the bright side, I had an active social life and started re-learning a language I hadn’t planned to. So let’s go into more detail…

Health

Sleep

To better understand the data below: by “tracker”, I mean my Flex (as I explained in my post on keeping track of sleep), and by “time spent sleeping”, I mean according to my Fitbit dashboard. This isn’t the most reliable data but that is all I have for now.

Time of tracker activation: between 00:15 am and 03:33 am – 01:34 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 10:00 am and 11:43 am – 11:00 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 7h23 and 10h28 – 9h25 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 3h52 and 5h10 – 4h40 on average

I never rated my sleep as being particularly good or bad but there was no day when I felt well rested. I don’t trust myself enough to set goals for next week, but I think I should aim at either sleeping longer or spending less time in bed. It makes no sense to get up after 10:00 am if I wake up at 6:30 am – better to go to bed earlier.

Diet

Let me be clear from the start: when I write “diet”, I don’t mean that I am on a diet: it is just a generic word for “food I put in my mouth”. While I strive to make smarter choices when it comes to food, I have no intention of going on a diet. I feel like monitoring what I eat is the first step toward a healthier life, but when it comes to thinking about what I buy and eat, I would rather do it when I am on my own, which wasn’t the case this week.

Meals eaten: 7 breakfasts, 7 lunches, 7 dinners, 5 snacks.
Meals skipped: none.

This week, I cooked most of the time, except when my guest invited me to the restaurant and when I ate takeaway sushi with my partner. I ate a little of everything but mostly dairy products – quite a lot of cheese. Most of the dishes had pasta or vegetables in them, while my most frequent snack consisted of white bread with chocolate and nuts spread.

I would like to work again on my food-related queries to get more comprehensive reports. for now I have divided my data into three spreadsheets – meals, dishes, and ingredients – which isn’t extremely convenient. Using Access should make things easier.

Exercising

Total steps this week: 36,237
Average: 5,176.7 steps per day
Best day: Wednesday with 9,600+ steps
Days I reached my 5,000-step goal: 3
Days I almost reached it (4,000+): 2
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 0

To be fair, it was so hot this week that I didn’t feel like exercising and can’t blame myself for not trying. On Saturday, I went to the mall with my partner and took 7,500+ steps. On Monday, I made an effort to go for a walk and reached 6,600+ steps, while on Wednesday, walking around with my guest and visiting common friends helped me reach 9,600+ steps. The rest of the week, I walked more than usual but that still wasn’t much – about 4,700 steps at best.

Weight

Weight loss goal: -24 kg

I am not going to disclose my weight here because I would feel really uncomfortable doing so. All I can say is that my weight has been stable for a while, which is good enough for now. As long as I don’t take on any more weight, I consider it a win. Still, it would be nice to see my weight go down – it has been a while since I last saw that. Anyway, my goal is to weigh myself once a week – no more, no less – so that I can notice any meaningful change without obsessing over my weight.

Mental and physical states

Mental state: 0 awesome, 3 happy, 1 OK, 0 sad
Positive factors: entertainment (2), time with friends (1)
Negative factors: bad sleep (1)

Physical state: 0 awesome, 0 good, 4 OK, 0 bad
Positive factors: none
Negative factors: temperature (2), bad sleep / feeling sick (1)

Unfortunately, I only have four entries in this spreadsheet. I didn’t experience any mood swings as I usually do, so I didn’t think of logging my mood or physical condition. I should try to monitor my mental and physical states more closely.

Leisure

Social life

Total friends I interacted with in person: 10
Days I spent time with friends: 5
Total friends I interacted with on Skype: 2
Days I skyped with friends: 3

While I was initially supposed to be alone for the whole month of August, my partner didn’t leave as planned and was only away for a few days, and a friend unexpectedly stayed with me while he was gone. As a result, I got to enjoy my friend’s company, spend time with common friends with her, and randomly spent Friday evening with my partner and some of those friends at a medieval fair.

While I tend to consider myself a loner, I genuinely enjoyed my time with all those people and hope to see them again soon. I would say this was a really good week and I should endeavour to see my friends more frequently in the future.

Entertainment

Time spent watching series/films: 14.5 hours

I won’t lie: I don’t even feel guilty. In addition to watching the latest episodes of a few shows, including Mistresses, Suits and The Fosters, I watched the first (and, for now, only) season of How to Get Away with Murder and found it really good. At first I found the constant flashbacks annoying, but as the plot thickened I got really into it and it didn’t bother me that much. I also saw Big Hero 6 for the first time and liked it a lot.

Next week, I intend to spend less time watching TV and be more productive – although watching series in German or Spanish would totally count as work, at least in terms of language learning. Who knows, maybe I will subtitle an episode as practice or translate a review of one of my favourite shows!

Language learning

German: 4h50 spent
Speaking: 2h08 in 3 Skype calls
Listening: –
Reading: 2,000- words
Writing: 300+ words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

This is pretty usual for German: I have three steady language partners that I speak with almost every week; I am not watching any series in German and often prioritise speaking over listening; the time I dedicate to reading varies greatly; I rarely write unless I have to send my language partners an e-mail or a message on Skype; I rarely translate, too; and I am not currently trying to expand my vocabulary.

Spanish: 1h47 spent
Vocabulary: 275 words

I just started re-learning Spanish so my focus was on reactivating my vocabulary as well as learning new words. To these ends, I used Memrise, which I already used for German and other languages, and Duolingo, which I don’t normally use.

Others:
Japanese: vocabulary (15 words)
ASL: only vocabulary reviews

Work

Actual work

To be completely honest, I didn’t even try to get any work done this week. On the bright side, though, this blog got me back into writing. Reading and writing are extremely important to a translator and it had been too long since I had had a reason to write every day – be it in English or any other language. I intend to stick with it, although I should make writing content for my professional website a priority.

Marketing / Job hunt

No efforts were made to either find clients or contact them. However, I found a few job offers that matched my criteria – for which I haven’t applied yet, but intend to. Fortunately, I still have three weeks to apply for the position I am most excited about, but time flies and I wouldn’t be surprised if it was suddenly the end of the month and I had completely forgotten about it in spite of my schedule and to-do list, so I really need to get to it next week.

Let me know what you think!

