NaBloPoMo Roundup #01 – New to the neighbourhood

a.k.a. What are other participants blogging about?

This first week back into blogging has been a real challenge for me, not by lack of ideas but because I had too much to write. I hadn’t been in this situation in a long time and it felt great to be inspired! Unfortunately, between blogging and other activities, I didn’t have much time to check out what my fellow NaBloPoMo participants were writing about although I really wanted to. So today, I gathered as many answers to this week’s prompts as I could find and decided to share a roundup of my readings.

Monday: expertise

Everyone is an expert in something. Tell us 3 things you’re an expert in.

My answer: Everyone’s an expert in their own way…
I started with things I am not an expert in; presented myself as an expert at making excuses, spreading chocolate-and-nuts spread on white bread, and counting words; and listed three things I wish I were an expert in, i.e. translation, cooking and nutrition, and drawing.

This prompt inspired many bloggers and the variety of their answers (and skills!) amazed me.

Tuesday: taking advice

Do you prefer to take advice from strangers or from people close to you?

My answer: The delicate art of advising and being advised
I decided to focus on questions to consider when giving or receiving advice: the reasons why others give us advice / why we give advice; whether a person should advise us / whether we should advise others; and the relationship between adviser and advisee. The main problem I noticed was that many people don’t want to talk about their issues and don’t seek advice.

  • Arie at KMP Blog worried that her close ones may be too biased to give her good advice.
  • Aurora at Cool College Helpers put forward the wisdom that comes with old age and her need for objectivity and truth.
  • Beth at Writing in the Sand trusts expert with her legal, medical, and other issues but only trusts her closed ones with personal issues.
  • Carin at 36 Hour Work Week explained why she would rather seek advice from a therapist than from a person close to her.
  • Dana at Roscommon Acres analysed the kind of advice she received after the death of her son and related good advice to experience and personal connection with an issue.
  • Jackielyn at When My Brain Farts cut to the chase and answered that it doesn’t matter who gives her advice – it is up to her what to do with it.
  • Nicole at I PerCyst recalls times when her family failed to help her because they were too close – she trusts her therapist instead.
  • Robyn at Kind Mommy Blog wrote about the effect of “judgey” people who think others “should” follow their advice.
  • Samantha at Legendary Mama tends to only take advice from people who know what they are talking about and have her best interest in mind.
  • Trease at Transparency recalled one of the best piece of advice she was ever given and ended with a wise thought on hold to handle advice.

Wednesday: learning

If you could connect one-on-one with one expert, what would you want to learn?

My answer: On catching clients with food
I restricted myself to two areas, one professional (communication and marketing) and the other personal (cooking and nutrition) and eventually decided to merge the two and start an interpreting and catering service. Well, not really, but that would be fun… And extremely complex – I have no idea how one could juggle the two!

Thursday: teaching

What is something you know that you could teach another person if given the chance?

My answer: I won’t teach you any language…
I wrote about my experience as an English tutor, the other paths I had considered in the field of language learning, and the idea I had to “teach language learning”, i.e. use my learning and teaching experience to help others become independent language learners.

I was surprised to only find three answers to this question – we all have things to teach and there seems to be lot of experts taking part in this month’s challenge! But maybe I didn’t look hard enough, so please let me know in the comments if you have found or written other answers to this prompt.

  • Beth at Writing in the Sand is ready to teach crochet, a fun and relaxing way to unleash her creativity.
  • Nicole at I PerCyst has a lot to teach on the topic of organisation and shares four useful tips about this “very logical thing”.
  • Rachel at Domestic Mobility has a lot to teach, from household chores to parenting, and also made a list of some things she can’t teach.
  • Samantha at Legendary Mama prides herself on being a mom and gladly shares parenting advice but prefers to help rather than teach.

Friday: self-help books

Are you a fan of self-help/advice books? What has been your favourite one?

I didn’t answer this prompt because I don’t read self-help books. Just because they have been published doesn’t mean that they give sound advice, and I wouldn’t want to pick the wrong book and make things worse because of it. There are a number of books I would like to read, though, and having read the following posts, I will make sure to buy them as soon as I can afford them.

I could only find four posts answering Friday’s prompt. I was less surprised this time, as I wasn’t tempted to answer this prompt myself. Still, I would have liked to read more posts on this topic as I am sure there are a lot of good self-help books to recommend, so feel free to do so in the comments!

I am looking forward to answering more interesting prompts and reading more interesting posts next week! I will be sure to make another post next Sunday to share my findings if my schedule allows it.

11 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Roundup #01 – New to the neighbourhood

    • Thank you for the link! It turns out I had missed your other posts as well. I have added them to the list. Did you add them to the NaBloPoMo list? I’m not sure how many people use it to find posts to read but that is where I found your first post.

      Like

  1. Thank you so much for mentioning me! I think your blogging concept, and project for self-improvement is really great. I look forward to reading more as you advance on your journey.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Transparency and commented:
    Thank you, Jolineys at trackkeeping.wordpress.com for mentioning me in your most recent blog post! We all have a story to share. Thank you for all your contributions and for the graciousness of mentioning some of the rest of us. Let’s keep it going, girl!

    Like

  3. Thank you SO much for mentioning me! I absolutely LOVE being in the company of so many gifted bloggers. From the bottom of my heart, I believe that each of us has something to offer the other. We all have a story of some kind to offer. Thanks again!

    Like

  4. Hello! Thanks for mentioning my friend on your post. I’m pretty sure there are more people that will publish theirs, but I guess it’s just taking them a while. Teehee! Your English is amazing, by the way. I wouldn’t have noticed that it isn’t your first language!
    About you not reading self-help books, I agree with you. With the boom of self-publishing, people are not always credible of whatever they’re writing. Also, there are free sources on the internet!

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind comment!
      You are right, why spend money on books when we can get help for free on the internet? There are so many people sharing their experience, what worked and what didn’t work for them, that we should be able to find answers to all our problems! It can be especially helpful to gather input from different people instead of trusting one book author.
      Unfortunately, we have to be even more careful with the advice we find online, as many people give advice without knowing what they are talking about.
      I should stop writing now. How do I stop writing?

      Like

Let me know what you think!

