Weekly report #002 – Watching TV makes you stupid…

…unless it helps you learn Spanish?

Unfortunately, I don’t think I achieved any of the goals I had set last week; quite frankly, I had completely forgotten about them. I watched way, waaaayyyy too much TV and barely left home, which means I barely saw anyone. On the bright side, my second week of Spanish went far better than I imagined, my job hunting efforts improved, and so did my diet – or so I think.

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 00:57 am and 05:41 am – 03:03 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 07:30 am and 01:18 pm – 10:48 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 4h50 and 10h16 – 7h44 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 1h55 and 6h10 – 4h08 on average

So on average, I went to bed later than last week but got up earlier and consequently “wasted” less time in bed. I had a rough night when I barely got any sleep and got up early, but it was only a one-time thing. My bedtime didn’t seem to have any influence on how early or how late I got up – it was all pretty chaotic.

Diet

Meals eaten: 6 breakfasts, 6 lunches, 7 dinners, 7 snacks.
Meals skipped: 1 breakfast, 1 lunch.

This week, I cooked every day, except for one evening when I was invited to have dinner at a friend’s place. I definitely ate less dairies and more vegetables. I could have done without ice cream, but come on, it was so hot here !

I tried to come up with new recipe such as an almonds and cheese sauce (a disaster in my opinion, but my partner liked it) and a peas and mint sauce (definitely a success). My favourite combo was ground beef with curry paste + beans with garlic and parmesan. I also tried different breakfast combinations to avoid eating the same things every morning.

Exercising

Total steps this week: 13,322
Average: 1,903 steps per day
Best day: Tuesday with 4,793 steps
Days I reached my 5,000-step goal: 0
Days I almost reached it (4,000+): 1
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 2

Days I exercised: 2
Total time exercising: 40mn
Total squats: 140
Total push-ups: 140
Total crunches: 200

So I only managed to exercise for 20mn at a time, but hey, that’s more than last week. I find squats painful, push-ups (on my knees) difficult but OK, and crunches easiest – probably because I am not doing them the right way.

Weight

Weight change: none noticed
Weight loss goal: -24 kg

Mental and physical states

Mental state: 0 awesome, 3 happy, 1 OK, 0 sad
Positive factors: language learning / time with friends / time with partner (1)
Negative factors: bad sleep (1)

Physical state: 0 awesome, 0 good, 4 OK, 0 bad
Positive factors: exercise (1)
Negative factors: temperature (1), bad sleep (2)

Like last week, there are only four entries – well, at least there aren’t less. I was generally happy for very varied reasons and tired because of the heat and lack of sleep. Next week, I will set up daily reminders to log my mental and physical states.

Leisure

Social life

Total friends I interacted with in person: 3
Days I spent time with friends: 1
Total friends I interacted with on Skype: 3
Days I skyped with friends: 4

I spent the week alone except for Monday and Tuesday evenings when my partner was home. On Monday, we spent the evening at a friend’s place and had a wonderful time. Unfortunately, after that, the only conversations I had took place on Skype. I had one Skype call a day from Monday to Thursday, and two of them lasted between two and three hours.

Entertainment

Time spent watching series/films: 31.5 hours

Well, I didn’t think it was possible, but my TV time more than doubled since last week. As usual, I mostly watched series, mainly Devious Maids. This is going to be hard to top – not that I would like to, of course. So I guess more alone time means more TV, which I already suspected. I only watched series in English but all of them had Spanish subtitles and Devious Maids has many Latin-American characters so I got to hear some Spanish.

My goals for next week will be to spend less time watching TV – let’s try to reduce it to no more than 2 hours per day, that would be a good start.

Language learning

German: 4h31 spent
Speaking: 1h39 in 3 Skype calls
Listening: –
Reading: 3,500- words
Writing: 270 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

This was more or less the same as last week. I don’t have much to write about German because I really want to write about Spanish!

Spanish: 3h26 spent
Speaking: 1h24 in 1 Skype call
Listening: –
Reading: 2,750+ words
Writing: –
Translating: –
Vocabulary: 164

I had my very first Spanish conversation on Monday – I was absolutely thrilled! I had scheduled a Skype call with one of my long-time speaking partners with whom I normally speak German (her mother tongue) and French, but since she speaks very good Spanish, we gave it a try. We started with about an hour of German and then spoke Spanish for longer than that. I couldn’t believe it! I obviously made a lot of mistakes, but yey! I speak Spanish now!

In addition, I was truly amazed at how easy reading was. I guess I hadn’t realised how close Spanish and French were until now. I need to start actively listening to songs, podcasts, videos, etc. and write my first texts in Spanish. Of course, I also have a lot of work on the grammatical side.

Others:
Japanese, ASL: only vocabulary reviews.

Work

Actual work

I wish I had better news, but I didn’t work this week either, not even on my website. I focused on language learning instead.

Marketing / Job hunt

In terms of marketing efforts, I don’t have anything to say, except that I started reading a book on “new” online job hunting strategies that should help me find clients. I dedicated more time to my job search, as I checked the usual websites for new job ads every day and got in touch with a temp agency (only one, but that’s still better than none).

One thought on “Weekly report #002 – Watching TV makes you stupid…

  1. Pingback: Falling behind – Second-week NaBloPoMo roundup | Keeping Track

Let me know what you think!

