5 mistakes I made that you should avoid

a.k.a. Please don’t follow my lead

This post is based on a NaBloPoMo prompt: What are some of your best worst tips for getting your day off to a good start?

I can’t tell you what to do

Judging by my post on the delicate art of advising and being advised, I figured that I wasn’t qualified to share tips on something that I fail at on a regular basis. Of course, I have read a lot of tips on the subject, but despite my best efforts good intentions, I most often than not act against my best interests and miss my morning goals.

So instead of sharing advice that I can’t seem to follow myself, I decided to share the worst mistakes I made in August that prevented me from getting my day off to a good start. These (anti?) tips are based on the first monthly report of my self-monitoring project.

But I can tell you what not to do

  1. Don’t stay up late unless you are on a tight deadline.
    Your to-do list will still be there in the morning and you can be as efficient and productive at 7 am as you think you are at 1 am provided you get enough sleep.
  2. Don’t commit to doing first thing in the morning something you really don’t want to do.
    While it can be better to get the unpleasant stuff out of the way before moving on to something you like, there is surely a more effective way to lure yourself out of your cosy bed.
  3. Don’t skip breakfast.
    Your body needs fuel to get you through each day. Skipping a meal won’t help you lose weight and hunger can be a huge distraction as you try to get things done before lunch.
  4. Don’t browse the web as soon as you turn your computer on.
    You never know how long it can take and you will feel much better if you do something useful and productive first. If you can, set time aside for “mindless browsing” and social media and for checking your (personal and professional) e-mails.
  5. Don’t forget to plan your day.
    Knowing what you have to do and setting aside time to get it all done can be a source of motivation and satisfaction while keeping time eaters at bay.
6 thoughts on “5 mistakes I made that you should avoid

Let me know what you think!

