Gratitude for the past and hope for the future

No longer anyone to drive me around

This post is based on a NaBloPoMo prompt: How did/do you get to school: bus, walk, drive, or bike?

In school

As a child, my house was only a 5 or 10-minute walk from school. At first, I would get there by foot with my mum or dad, or they would drive me there if they were in a rush or the weather was too bad, but as I got older, I was able to bike to and from school. I would have rollerbladed to school if my parents had let me, but it wasn’t very practical!

My collège (age 11 to 15) wasn’t as close to home and my dad would drive me there most mornings and home most evenings. When my classes started late or finished early, I could either ask him to drive me there or home at the usual times, or walk there or home on my own, unless a friend’s parent offered to drive me. It was only a 20-minute walk so there was never a risk that I wouldn’t be able to go home on my own.

My lycée (age 15 to 18) was in a different city and I had to take a train there and back. Same as in college, either my dad would drive me to the train station or I would walk there myself. On train strike days, which are quite common in France, he would sometimes drive me there or back, but most of the time I wasn’t eager to get to school or didn’t mind hanging out with my friends until the next train came.

I was lucky to be able to rely on my dad as I did and to get to spend such a lot of time with him. Many of my friends didn’t have that chance. Still, I am glad that I now live in a city with a decent bus network and don’t need my dad to drive me around any more!

Now

As a freelancer, all I have to do to get to work is open the door to my living room and sit in front of my computer. However, I can always grab my laptop and find a different place to work. Living so close to the sea, I guess I could sit on a beach with an umbrella and still get some work done, but I wouldn’t want to get any sand inside my laptop!

Next month, I have decided to experiment with a coworking space that I discovered a few months ago. Actual translation and proofreading work will get done on my home computer in the morning, while work that doesn’t require complete focus can be done on my laptop in the afternoon with other freelancers (mostly web developers) working on their own projects all around me.

This new workplace will give me a reason to leave home every day, something I am not used to, and to take two 20-minute walks a day from home and back. I could get there faster by bus, but since no boss is waiting for me there, I won’t have any reason to hurry. And when it is time to go home, I am sure I won’t mind walking home rather than waiting at the bus stop.

Of course, it won’t be the same without my singing (and, I’ll admit it, dancing) breaks and the sweet meowing or light snoring of my furry friends, but I’m sure I’ll adapt.

Featured image: School buses in the fall by Larry Darling on Flickr, resized and cropped by me.

One thought on “Gratitude for the past and hope for the future

  1. Pingback: Why I write and what I write about | Keeping Track

Let me know what you think!

