Weekly Report #005 – Finally making some progress…

…despite a few missteps

This week, some progress on the sleeping front, a bad diet, lots of literal steps taken, weight changes that cancelled themselves, two evenings with friends, “barely” any TV, even more language learning, (almost) daily translation sessions, and some progress with my website. Apart from some bad eating choices, I am really pleased with how this week went. Here’s the detail.

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 11:04 pm and 04:50 am – 00:46 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 07:28 am and 10:43 am – 09:10 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 0h and 10h19 – 7h12 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 0h and 5h18 – 3h14 on average

As I had announced in the last weekly report, I decided to stay up all night on Saturday to force my body to go to bed early the next evening and it seems to have worked! In addition to turning the light off twice before midnight (against not even once over the four previous weeks), I went to bed 2h14 and got up 1h42 earlier than last week on average (and earlier than any other week on average). That’s a huge win!

Diet

Meals eaten: 7 breakfasts, 6 lunches, 7 dinners, 3 snacks.
Meals skipped: 1 lunch.

Friends came over twice and we ate stuff I normally don’t buy such as crisps and other salt-filled treats. I also made – and ate – a lot of pasta this week and not enough vegetables to my taste. Finally, before he left, I took my partner to the restaurant one last time.

Ingredients:
Most eaten/drunk: chocolate and nuts spread / white bread (6), pasta / cream / curry paste / milk (5)
New ingredients: mustard, avocado, soy milk, cucumber, carrot
Most increased consumption: milk (+3)
Most reduced consumption: garlic (-4)

Types of ingredients:
Most eaten/drunk: dairy products (15), sugary / condiments (9)
New types of ingredients: veggie “dairy” products
Most increased consumption: cereals / fungi (2)
Most reduced consumption: condiments (-6)

Dishes:
Favourite meal: chicken korma at the restaurant
Healthiest meal (?): vegetables’ assortment with mustard and soy milk sauce
Least favourite meal: carrots with crisps
Unhealthiest meal: quiche and sausage rolls with crisps and tortillas

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 37,529
Average: 5,361 steps per day
Best day: Wednesday with 7,068 steps
Days I reached my 5,000-step goal: 5
Days I almost reached it (4,000+): 0
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 0
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 2
Total time exercising: 40mn
Total squats: 0
Total push-ups: 100
Total crunches: 240

This week I made efforts to get out more and walk more, and while I didn’t meet my September goal, I am pretty pleased with my progress. I discovered a park that I didn’t even know existed and went to the mall twice to give myself a reason to take more steps.

Yesterday I found a new way to exercise: dancing! I have been listening to a lot of music in the past week and it made me want to sing and dance. Now that I have rearranged the furniture in my living room, I can dance around freely to my heart’s content.

It is much more enjoyable than doing crunches and I can totally see myself taking a break from my computer every few hours to dance around with my cats as only witnesses.

Weight

Weight change: -0.1 kg New weight loss goal: -22.9 kg

As my monthly report shows, I actually lost more than that and reached a weight loss goal of -21.6 kg, but with friends coming over, a night out, alcohol, and that time of the month, I regained weight as fast as I had lost it. At least I remain below last week’s weight.

Mental and physical states

Mental state: 0 awesome, 7 happy, 0 OK, 1 sad
Positive factors: with friends / entertained (2)
Negative factors: lonely (1)
Physical state: 0 awesome, 1 good, 6 OK, 1 bad
Positive factors: exercising (1)
Negative factors: late hour / no sleep (2)

Yesterday I logged my first “good” physical state, as the result of both a dancing session and the higher position of my computer screen. When I moved my desk to the other side of the living room, I grabbed a cardboard box and put it between the desk and the screen. It altered my posture a little and my neck and back don’t hurt anymore.

Leisure

Social life

Total friends I interacted with in person: 3
Days I spent time with friends: 2
Total friends I interacted with on Skype: 3
Days I skyped with friends: 4

Since my partner had to leave this week, we invented friends over that we hadn’t seen in a while – one came on Monday and two on Tuesday. It was great to see them – and nice to see other people. I will certainly see them again soon, probably as soon as next week.

I wanted to go to the coworking space I mentioned but there was always a reason not to – first I didn’t feel good, then I found it more comfortable to work on my home computer than on my tiny laptop, and then I couldn’t get easyphp to work on my partner’s bigger laptop.

Entertainment

Total time spent watching series/films: 8.16 hours
Average time spent watching series/films: 1.17 hour a day
Total time spent browsing the web/blogging: 34.16 hours
Average time spent browsing the web/blogging: 4.88 hours a day

Well, seems like TV time isn’t a problem anymore. Having friends over and a night out left me less evening time to watch series and I endeavoured to do other things during the day. I started watching Revenge but have been very reasonable so far. I also replaced series with Youtube videos in Spanish at lunch time.

Language learning

German: 7h28 spent
Speaking: 1h25 in 2 Skype calls
Listening: 29mn
Reading: 12,380 words
Writing: 237 words
Translating: 1,510 words
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 8h spent
Speaking: 1h51 in 3 Skype calls
Listening: 1h
Reading: 4,350 words
Writing: 660 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

Even with fewer and much shorter Skype calls, I managed to beat last week in time dedicated to language learning – 15h28 this week v. 15h19 last week. While I spoke less, I did more of everything else and read three to four times more as last week. Reading takes me way more time than it should, especially in German, as I read out loud to work on my pronunciation. As usual, I need to write and listen more!

Japanese:
Only vocabulary reviews
ASL:
Only vocabulary reviews

Work

Actual work

Translation: 11,674 words in 7h38 / 7 sessions
Proofreading: 514 words in 25mn / 1 session
Writing:
Formatting:

I challenged myself to translate 50,000 words in September, the same amount of words needed to complete NaNoWriMo, which means I have to translate 1,667 words a day. So far, so good – I thought I would be above this goal but I skipped a day. I am actually at 6,194 words out of 50,000 since the words I translated before Tuesday don’t count toward my September goal.

The text I am working has a lot of repetitions, doesn’t require any research, and barely has any words I need to look up, so I have been working very fast – translating 1,529 words an hour on average, which is probably the fastest I have ever worked. However, the source text is poorly written and I didn’t take the time to proofread as I translated, so I wouldn’t let anyone read my work at this point. It is going to require a lot of rewriting.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 0
Potential clients/employers met in person: 0
Assignments/jobs considered: 0
Assignments/jobs applied for: 0
Professional website: 25% ready
Pages written: 7 / 12
Pages proofread once: 2 / 12
Pages proofread twice: 0 / 12

This week I focused on my website. I kept looking at job ads but didn’t find anything interesting. Once my website is ready, I will feel more comfortable reaching out to potential clients as I will be able to redirect them to it for more information. I will project a more professional image of myself and should get a quick dose of search-engine love. I realise this is still an excuse not to address my fears, but it is something I really need to do.

One thought on “Weekly Report #005 – Finally making some progress…

  1. Pingback: Weekly Report #010 – Things are looking up | Keeping Track

Let me know what you think!

