Places to go, languages to learn…

…and not enough time nor money!

This post is based on a Writing101 prompt: write a list – a list of things you like, of things you have learnt, or any kind of list. I set a timer for 30 minutes – as that was all the time I could spend on this assignment – and made a few lists of things I would like to happen. It wasn’t easy with a cat between me and the keyboard!

Places to go

  • Germany: I only went there once for 3-4 days but I would love to go back and visit my language partners!
  • Italy: I live so close to Italy that I can’t believe I have never been there. It’s time!
  • Spain: I went there a few times as a child, but now that I am relearning Spanish, I want to go back!
  • Canada: I spent 8 months in Montreal, QC during my BA and would love to go back and see more!
  • The USA: I watch so many series that take place in this country, it would be great to see it without a screen.

Languages to (re)learn

  • Italian: relearning it would give me access to more jobs and give me one more reason to visit Italy.
  • Japanese: I have always wanted to learn Japanese but it seems like such an ordeal!
  • Russian: the grammar of this language fascinates me, I look forward to learning more.
  • American sign language (ASL): I started learning it a few months ago and would love to continue.
  • French sign language (LSF): I would love to take a class in my city – I just haven’t been able to afford it.

Things to do

  • Finish my website: it has been going on long enough! I am finishing it this month. This is non-negotiable.
  • Get a couples’ massage: it won’t happen any time soon but I always wanted to try it.
  • Go to a concert: I can’t even remember the last time I went to one. I love music, I want to go!
  • Reach my goal weight: it will probably take me years but I think I’m on the right track.
  • Try a new sport: I have meaning to try kyudô (Japanese archery) for a while, or maybe boxing or dancing.

Things to get

  • Curtains: my current obsession – I need them to divide my living room in two areas.
  • Driving licence: I have waited long enough – I need to learn how to drive before I turn 30.
  • Fitbit Charge: at first my Flex wristband was more than I needed, but now I want more!
  • Mirror: the only mirror we have is in the bathroom and the lighting there is terrible.
  • Pinboard: I would like to display postcards, photographs, etc. on a wall.

 

I intended to list things I want to do or make but ran out of time – maybe in a later post!

4 thoughts on “Places to go, languages to learn…

  1. What an ambitious list! I like the way you think haha. I’m glad you have set goals to visit some countries around you as well as some on my side of the ocean :).

    You are the only other person so far today that I have seen do a “bucket list” -esque response to the prompt. Mine is similar, but far less organized.

    https://whistlewhileyouwalk.wordpress.com/2015/09/08/bucket-list/

    P.S. A recommendation for your blog: you should add a photo in WP Admin so your blog is easily identifiable even with a bunch of tabs open.

    Like

    • You’re right, it’s a bucket list! I always wanted to make one so I thought I would give it a try. Maybe it’s too down to earth but I’m no adventurer like you are!
      Thank you for suggesting I add an image, I hadn’t even noticed it could be done.

      Like

Let me know what you think!

