Weekly Report #006 – Setbacks

Cutting myself some slack

This first week alone wasn’t easy – I had more good days than bad but struggled with finding motivation to work or do things important to me. I got lazy with tracking and didn’t log everything I ate nor time my online wandering. As a result, today’s report may not be as accurate as usual but it will have to do.

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 11:15 pm and 02:56 am – 01:04 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 09:46 am and 10:45 am – 10:21 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 7h44 and 10h40 – 9h16 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 3h02 and 5h13 – 4h25 on average

While better than last month, I can’t tell whether these results are better or worse than last week because of the sleepless night of August 29. I clearly lacked motivation and didn’t try to get up early. I can do better!

Diet

Meals eaten: 7 breakfasts, 5 lunches, 7 dinners, 2 snacks.
Meals skipped: 2 lunches.

There was a day when I spent the afternoon in an ice-cream parlour and had dinner at the restaurant with friends, but apart from that, I stayed home and ate a lot of vegetables. I am pretty sure that I didn’t log everything I ate and it was probably for the best!

Ingredients:
Most eaten/drunk: orange juice (5), cocoa / beans / garlic / mustard / soy milk (4)
New ingredients: none
Most increased consumption: orange juice / cocoa / beans / garlic (+3)
Most reduced consumption: ground beef / curry paste (-2)

Types of ingredients:
Most eaten/drunk: vegetables (17), sugary products (9), condiments (7)
New types of ingredients: none
Most increased consumption: vegetables (+10)
Most reduced consumption: dairy products (-11), meat (-5), cereals (-4)

Dishes:
Favourite meal: nutella and white chocolate ice cream
Healthiest meal (?): vegetables’ assortment with mustard and soy milk sauce
Least favourite meal: chicken burger with fries at the restaurant
Unhealthiest meal: probably the same

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 35,148
Average: 5,021 steps per day
Best day: Wednesday with 8,065 steps
Days I reached my 5,000-step goal: 5
Days I almost reached it (4,000+): 0
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 1
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 1
Total time exercising: 21mn
Total squats: 200
Total push-ups: 140
Total crunches: 200

I really made efforts to get out and walk to reach my daily goal, and I am happy that I at least managed to reach an average of 5,000 steps per day. On the fitness front, however… Meh.

Weight

Weight change: -0.3 kg New weight loss goal: -22.6 kg

I read somewhere that to find out one’s “real” weight, one should weigh oneself every morning for a week and take the average of the week’s measurements. This sounds like a good method to avoid false hopes – e.g. when weighing oneself after exercising and before eating – and disappointments – e.g. after a meal and before one’s body had a chance to “process” it – so this is what I intend to do for now on.

Mental and physical states

Mental state: 1 awesome, 2 happy, 3 OK, 2 sad
Positive factors: entertained (3)
Negative factors: missing my partner (2)
Physical state: 0 awesome, 0 good, 8 OK, 0 bad
Positive factors: none
Negative factors: bad sleep (3)

Leisure

Social life

Total friends I interacted with in person: 6
Days I spent time with friends: 3
Total friends I interacted with on Skype: 3
Days I skyped with friends: 3

Every time my partner has to go on a “business trip”, one of our best friends steps up and reprises his role as moral support and “platonic surrogate boyfriend” for lack of a better term. This week, I saw him three times: we first went for a drink, then went shopping for a few things I needed to redecorate the flat, and finally did a short job-hunting session at my place before we attended an English-speaking meetup I mentioned in Foreign-language fun. I expect to see more of him next week.

Entertainment

Total time spent watching series/films: 12.6 hours
Average time spent watching series/films: 1.8 hours a day
Total time spent browsing the web/blogging: 23.5 hours
Average time spent browsing the web/blogging: 3.35 hours a day

While the time spent in front of TV is accurate – and within the limits I set for myself – I can’t say the same of the time spent on my computer for entertainment purposes as I failed to track this time over the last two days. I think we can add up to 10 hours of recreational computer use, about the same as last week.

Language learning

German: 8h44 spent
Speaking: 1h48 in 2 Skype calls
Listening: 1h49
Reading: 11,575 words
Writing: 120 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 3h08 spent
Speaking: 1h11 in 1 Skype calls
Listening: –
Reading: 1,553 words
Writing: 412 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

I had three Skype calls planned but missed one because the friend I was with insisted on doing some shopping of his own before he took me home, and cancelled the other because I didn’t feel like (a) talking, (b) speaking Spanish, and (c) talking to the person in question. I got closer to the partner I did talk to, though, when I realised we liked many of the same TV series, but we spent a lot more time speaking English than Spanish.

Japanese: ASL:

Under different circumstances, I would write that I am disappointed in myself this week, but since I wasn’t feeling all that great, I think I can cut myself some slack and just hope to do better next week.

Work

Actual work

Translation: 2,047 words in 1h / 1 session
Proofreading: 699 words in 0h55 / 1 session
Writing:
Formatting:

Yeah… Cutting myself some slack definitely sounds like a good idea. I finished my translation project and had to proofread it but couldn’t find the motivation to do so. I might have kept translating every day or so had I chosen a new text, but since I hadn’t and wasn’t particularly eager to do so, I will have to translate about 2,200 words a day instead of the initial 1,667 to make up for this week.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 0
Potential clients/employers met in person: 0
Assignments/jobs considered: 4
Assignments/jobs applied for: 2
Professional website: 38.8% ready
Pages written: 7 / 12
Pages proofread once: 7 / 12
Pages proofread twice: 0 / 12

I surprised myself by appling for two freelance positions on a day when I really wasn’t feeling great. On the website front, all I did was proofread the pages I hadn’t proofread yet. I expected better from this week, but again, “considering”… I just need to pull myself together next week.

Let me know what you think!

