Weekly Report #007 – The hope is strong with this one

The Force would be nice too

Well, this is disappointing. On the bright side, I took more steps than last week, lost more weight, spent more time with friends, translated more words, and got a job offer – albeit just for one day. On the other side… Everything else. It is a little discouraging, but my confidence is still high – confidence that I will notice some improvement at the end of the month and that next week will be better in its own way. I mean, this week wasn’t bad!

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 2:04 am and 7:00 am – 4:36 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 9:40 am and 2:23 pm – 12:08 pm on average
Time spent in bed: between 2h40 and 12h19 – 7h31 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 1h38 and 5h44 – 3h36 on average

Well that was a week of extremes! I sort of attempted to stay up all night on Saturday and Thursday evenings to “reboot” but eventually crawled into bed wondering what the hell I was thinking. Next week, with my dad and a couchsurfer staying with me, I will be more inclined to go to bed early and rise and shine at a more conventional time. Even though my partner arrived yesterday and we only went to bed after 1 am…

Diet

There will be no diet data analysis this week as I failed to log too many meals. In fact, I think I will stop looking at this data for a while, until I find a better way to use it, but will keep logging my meals as often as I can.

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 39,252
Average: 5,607.4 steps per day
Best day: Saturday with 10,276 steps
Days I reached my 5,000-step goal: 4
Days I almost reached it (4,000+): 0
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 1
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 1
Total time exercising: 11mn
Total squats: –
Total push-ups: 40
Total crunches: 200

This week, I recorded my first, second, and fifth best days of the month with 10,276 steps, 9,516 steps, and 7,633 steps. The first day, I attended a music festival; the second, I went shopping with a friend; and the third, I looked for a place to eat ice cream after 11 pm because my dad was craving it. My two worst days were respectively little under and little over 1,000 steps, which is sort of good without leaving home.

Following Lalymom’s advice, I made a list of destinations I could head for when in need of a “step bump” with estimated step counts. So far, I have one “short bump” under 2,000 steps, five “medium bumps” between 2,000 and 5,000 steps, and one “long bump” over 5,000 steps. I can’t wait to try different itineraries to add more destinations (and step counts) to the list!

Weight

Weight change: -0.8 kg New weight loss goal: -22.1 kg

As I explained last week, I now weigh myself every day and draw conclusions from the average of the week’s weights instead of the last weight like I used to. I currently have the same weight loss goal as I did on August 31st (week 36), which I find a bit frustrating, but I only recorded 3 weights during week 36 so I comfort myself with the thought that the average from that week was inaccurate. I yo-yo a little but there is definitely a downward trend.

Mental and physical states

Mental state: 0 awesome, 3 happy, 1 OK, 0 sad
Positive factors: entertained (2), happy thought (1)
Negative factors: missing boyfriend (1)
Physical state: 0 awesome, 0 good, 4 OK, 0 bad
Positive factors: none
Negative factors: bad sleep (2)

Oops. I forgot to log those most days. I would like to do so at regular intervals but setting alarms to remind me to do so drives me crazy! Maybe I should set silent alarms at various times and log them on my phone when I’m out.

Leisure

Social life

Total friends I interacted with in person: 5
Days I spent time with friends: 4
Total friends I interacted with on Skype: 3
Days I skyped with friends: 3

I wouldn’t say that I saw my friends too much because I absolutely loved it, but seeing them didn’t leave me much time to focus on my goals. I do want to see them often, maybe even six times a week, but I would like to spend less time with them at a time. For instance, I could invite a friend over for lunch or dinner a few times a week without spending the whole afternoon or evening with them.

Entertainment

Total time spent watching series/films: 14.58 hours
Average time spent watching series/films: 2.08 hours a day
Total time spent browsing the web/blogging: 21.38 hours
Average time spent browsing the web/blogging: 3.05 hours a day

Apart from Revenge, I only watched an episode of Chasing Life and another of Switched at Birth in addition to re-watching Iron Man 3 with a friend. Did I mention how much I like Revenge? I feel like rewatching Captain America: The Winter Soldier just to see Emily VanCamp in it – well, maybe also because I love this film.

Language learning

German: 3h03 spent
Speaking: 1h07 in 2 Skype calls
Listening: 42mn
Reading: –
Writing: 85 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 2h05 spent
Speaking: 54mn in 1 Skype call
Listening: –
Reading: –
Writing: 471 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Japanese: ASL:

Oh woaw. This week was terrible – my absolute worst week since I started this project. I can’t believe how little I have achieved. Nor can I explain it. I really need more discipline.

Work

Actual work

Translation: 2,379 words in 2h53 / 4 sessions
Proofreading:
Writing:
Formatting: 8 pages in 39mn / 2 sessions

One thing is certain, I will never reach my 50,000-word goal by October 1st. In my defence, the texts I have chosen involve much more research than the e-book I worked on at the beginning of this month, and the quality of my work is much better. Also, those 2,379 words comprise 3 different texts, each of which deals with at least three different topics. This kind of work takes way more time than a single 2,379-word text on a single topic would.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 1
Potential clients/employers met in person: 0
Assignments/jobs considered: 1
Assignments/jobs applied for: 1

I made more progress yesterday in an hour than I have in a month and a half. I got a message on a social network from a Brit asking for a quote for a one-day interpreting job, and while my instinct was to write a reply, I couldn’t ignore the fact that calling made more sense. So I did. Yes, you read that write – I called a potential client. In English. I was a bit nervous but it seemed to go well.

I really hope I get this job – it is only for a few hours, doesn’t pay much because I was dumb enough to offer the lowest price I could think of due to my utter lack of interpreting experience, and will probably be more trouble than it is worth, but even a small job like that could be a big opportunity in disguise. You never know what results it might yield. Plus, unfortunately, that was all I did this week.

Let me know what you think!

