A letter to my 2035 self

Looking forward

This post is based on a SW30 prompt: where you are in your life vs. where you thought you would be at this point, a Daily Post prompt: write a letter to yourself in 20 years, a Writing101 prompt: the future, and a Blogging101 prompt: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on a blogging prompt. That’s an awful lot of prompts.

Dear 2035 me,

I am writing today to remind you of where you were – where I am – in life and imagine where you are – where I will be – in 20 years’ time. This should be a fun read for you, assuming your life is better than mine is; if it isn’t, I hope it will encourage you to do something about it. I will assume the best, though, as I need us to be happy.

Looking forward doesn’t come naturally to me, not like looking backward does – but you already know that. I hope you have learnt to let go of all the stupid – and less stupid – regrets I still cling to, but in case you haven’t, here is a quote I came up with while reading Annie’s blog and told her I would include here:

There are no regrets to be had, only love.
I haven’t made a single wrong choice in my life,
and if I think otherwise, I am doomed.

So what is going on in my life? And what could be going on in yours? Let’s see.

1. I live in France, with a partner who spends five to six months per year away from me, with two cats to keep me company. You could be living in Germany, or at least a different part of France, with a husband who started his own cybersecurity business from home or took a job related to one of his many interests, two kids in high school, and one more cat or dog. You could even have horses. How awesome would it be to have horses?!

2. I launched my business over a year ago and can’t say I have much to show for it. So far, I have done mostly translation work, but I just did my first interpreting job and loved it. You could be a successful translator and interpreter. You could have found a business partner and started a company together. You could have employees, or at least trainees. Or you could be working in – or even running – the translation department of a company.

Machine translators could have reached quality levels you didn’t expect and you could have stopped working as a translator years ago. You could be a full-time interpreter. A teacher. A writer. A programmer. You could even be a home designer for all I know! Whatever you are doing, I hope you are passionate about it. I certainly am. It took me a lot of time to figure out what I wanted to do, but I love doing it; I can’t imagine having a job I don’t love.

3. I study German and Spanish and intend to take a course in FSL as soon as I have set aside enough money. So let’s see: you obviously speak fluent German, Spanish, and Italian, but you didn’t stop there. Over the years, you could have picked up FSL and used it to communicate with your children before they were able to speak. You could have re-learnt a bit of Japanese and Russian, but I don’t think you learnt both – I think you went with Russian.

4. I’m basically broke and feel stuck in my corner of the world. I don’t think you’re wealthy but I’m sure you have travelled a lot over the years, at least in Europe. You could have made a habit of visiting friends in France, Germany, and Spain with your husband every year. Or maybe you live in Canada and don’t go to Europe that often, using whatever has replaced Skype to keep in touch with friends and family.

5. I only started my self-tracking project two months ago. I hope you are still doing it. You could have 20 years of data, maybe 20 years of blog posts. You could have created a self-tracking app with your husband that the whole family would use. You could have joined – or started – a Quantified Self Meetup Group in your city and taken part in QS conferences. Tracking could have helped improve your life in many areas, both personal and professional.

Just thinking of all the possibilities makes my head spin. I can only imagine where I will be in 20 years. I certainly had no idea where I would be today 20 years ago! I wanted to become a teacher, move in with my best friend, and get a dog. I had no idea my current job even existed. Even ten years ago, I still didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life – only what I didn’t want to do. So who can say where I’ll be in 20 years?

You can, obviously. You know everything. But do you know where you‘ll be in 20 years – in 2055? Will you still be working? Will you have grandchildren? How many cats will you have? What kind of hobbies will you have? Good luck trying to answer these questions. I certainly don’t look forward to answering them again!

Anyway, whatever you are doing and whatever happened to you over the years, I hope you are happy and everything is fine. That’s really all I can wish us. And feel free to write to me as well!

Take care,

Your 2015 self

P.S.: How about that driving licence, though? Did you ever get one?

4 thoughts on “A letter to my 2035 self

  1. Cat, dog, and horses. Sounds really great :) You said looking forward doesn’t come naturally to you but it seems like you thought about things in great detail here. Great post, and thanks for mentioning me!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

