Announcing Travel Tuesdays

A weekly feature on travel and languages

This post is based on a Blogging101 prompt: Develop a regular feature for your blog.

When I read today’s prompt, I didn’t intend to use it. I already had a regular feature of some sort, my weekly reports, and couldn’t imagine starting a new one. Joining a weekly challenge, sure, but I had a hard time coming up with an idea that would be my own. Eventually, though, an idea hit me and I just couldn’t imagine not using it! I won’t start today as it isn’t the right day of the week, but I can start laying out my plan for Travel Tuesdays.

Content

Travel

Every Tuesday, I would like to write about a different city that I have lived in, visited, or would like to visit. At first, I will probably focus on France, Germany, Spain, Italy, and a few English-speaking countries, but I don’t want to restrict myself to these. I want to take advantage of this feature to discover cities from all over the world to add to my travel wish list! Maybe my partner will contribute at some point as he has travelled quite a lot.

I won’t be writing travel guides but sharing random facts about those cities and recommending places I have liked, sharing travel stories, listings reasons to visit them, etc. My goal is only to broaden my horizons – and yours!

Languages

When I started this blog, I thought languages would take much more space than they do. I am glad that I found other things to blog about, but I think they deserve more than they have been getting. So every Tuesday, I will write a little about and/or in a foreign language. I will share reading and listening materials I found interesting, write something in German or Spanish as practice – and provide English translations.

I could also recount something funny that happened during a Skype call with one of my language partners, explain some of the mistakes they or I keep making, or share vocabulary and grammar knowledge I taught them or they taught me. Don’t worry, I won’t turn this feature into a language class!

Let me know in the comments if this is a feature you are interested in, whether you would like to do it as well, and which cities (or countries) and languages you would like me to blog about!

Let me know what you think!

