Weekly report #009 – Some peace and quiet

Fresh start in October

I can’t believe I had to wait until my 11th activity report to think about making a form. It isn’t exactly pretty as writing the HTML and Javascript files took me long enough and I didn’t feel like making a style sheet on top of that, but it’s going to be so convenient! I could totally add more details now that I know I will just have to fill cells. Anyway, let’s get started…

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 0:12 am and 3:05 am – 1:54 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 7:17 am and 1:20 pm – 10:11 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 6h25 and 10h20 – 8h16 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 2h16 and 4h56 – 3h40 on average

As usual, there was some good and some bad, some “yey! I got up before 10 am!” and some “damn, how could I spend so much time in bed?” Last week was definitely better – but then, I had more reasons to get up early. I guess I stayed up late to catch up on the missing blog posts as I wanted to meet my goal of writing one post for every day of September. This is useless but I’m now only two posts from my goal, so – yey?

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 34,345
Average: 4,906 steps per day
Best day: Friday with 8,638 steps
Days I reached my 6,000-step goal: 3
Days I almost reached it (4,000+): 0
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 0
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 2
Total time exercising: 31mn
Crunches: 380
Push-ups: 100
Squats: 110

There was a day when I didn’t leave home, and three when I didn’t feel like taking a walk just to reach 5,000 steps (the 6,000 step-goal only started on October 1st). I guess after last week I was more concerned with taking care of things at home than meeting my step goal. That’s a shame, I was so close!

Weight

Weight change: -0.3 kg New weight loss goal: -22 kg

There was definitely less yo-yoing than last week and I lost the weight I had regained.

Mental and physical states

Mental state: 0 awesome, 5 happy, 0 OK, 0 sad
Positive factors: entertained / happy thoughts (2)
Negative factors: none
Physical state: 0 awesome, 0 good, 5 OK, 0 bad
Positive factors: none
Negative factors: late hour (2)

Leisure

Social life

Friends I interacted with in person: 18
Days I spent time with friends: 3
Friends I interacted with on Skype: 3
Days I skyped with friends: 3

So in addition to the interpreting job I mentioned last week, I spent two evenings with friends and one of them came by to help with a decorating issue – a.k.a. drill into a wall so I could finally hang the new curtains. I’m really happy with them, by the way.

Entertainment

Total time spent watching series/films: 17.9 hours
Average time spent watching series/films: 2.6 hours a day
Total time spent browsing the web/blogging: 19.5 hours
Average time spent browsing the web/blogging: 2.8 hours a day

So… I know, I could have taken a few more walks instead of doing two five-hour Revenge marathons just because I was over 10 hours below my “no more than 2 hours of TV a day” goal. This show keeps suprising me – I should have grown tired of it by now, but I like the characters too much for my own good.

Language learning

German: 2h20 spent
Speaking: 1h32 in 3 Skype calls
Listening: –
Reading: –
Writing: –
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 4h spent
Speaking: 50mn in 1 Skype calls
Listening: 2mn30
Reading: 2,624 words
Writing: –
Translating: –
Vocabulary: 90 words

For German, I didn’t realise I hadn’t done anything else but speak until it was too late, and I now feel bad about that. For Spanish, I finally started learning vocabulary again and I guess I am proud of myself – come on, just a little, I promise. If only I could watch Revenge in Spanish – sorry, I don’t think the German version would work for me.

Japanese: ASL:

Work

Actual work

Translation: 5,902 words in 5h09 / 7 sessions
Proofreading:

Transcribing: 2,332 words in 1h45 / 6 sessions
Formatting:

I knew I was going to be ask to transcribe the interview I interpreted for, so I started transcribing different kind of (short) audio content to get used to it and have a better idea of how difficult and time-consuming it can be. It took more time than I thought but I took an unexpected liking to transcribing. So I will now transcribe videos or podcasts and translate them.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 0
Potential clients/employers met in person: 0
Assignments/jobs considered: 0
Assignments/jobs applied for: 0
Professional website: 51% ready
Pages written: 8 / 15
Pages proofread once: 8 / 15
Pages proofread twice: 7 / 15

I know, this sucks. I have no further comments.

5 thoughts on “Weekly report #009 – Some peace and quiet

    • It is :)

      Here is what I couldn’t do without:
      – an Excel planning file (one spreadsheet per week) to keep track of appointments and events of all kind and easily see what I did a given day/week,
      – an Excel tracking file (one spreadsheet per there, e.g. Sleep, Meals, etc.) to go into more details and easily gather this information at the end of each week/month, and
      – a Fitbit Flex wristband (and the companion website) to count my steps and monitor my sleep.

      And a few things I like but don’t really need:
      – a time-tracking app (aTimeLogger) to time my activities when I’m not home and can’t use my tracking file,
      – a goal-tracking app (GoalTracker) to keep track of my monthly goals, and
      – a physical planner I didn’t have any use for, just to have the satisfaction of writing my progress on paper.

      Thanks for asking!

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

