Small joys and disappointments

I did it!

Having mentioned yesterday that I wanted to cut my hair, I knew it wouldn’t be long before I took the plunge – I just didn’t expect it to happen so fast! Let’s start with a ‘before and after’ montage:

haircut

Hair stories

Sorry, I didn’t mean to go all ‘booby’ on you. I used to place my hair in front of my chest whenever I felt that it was attracting too much attention – I guess that’s one thing I’ll miss. At about 10:45 this morning, I grabbed a pair of scissors and said goodbye to over a third of my hair’s length. I did it myself as I am broke and had no idea how short I wanted it. In fact, I will probably cut it again in a few days but I think that was enough change for one day!

I spent over 2 hours combing, twisting, cutting, combing, twisting, cutting, […] shampooing, rinsing, drying, fighting the urge to cut some more, and admiring in the mirror – that’s probably what took me so long. I’m glad I thought of making a ‘before’ shots – I’m pretty sure I would have regretted not doing it. My hair now seems longer on one side than the other, but that’s just because of the way I styled it. I kept cutting for a while after that, just to make sure it wasn’t too asymmetrical, but I didn’t want it to be too symmetrical either!

I’m quite pleased with the result, but a little disappointed that none of the four friends I had lunch with noticed – or, at least, commented on – it. They had seen me two days before with long, loose hair so it’s not like they didn’t have any idea what it normally looked like. I know many people don’t pay attention to this kind of thing, but at least two of the four usually notice hair changes, even not-so-obvious ones.

That’s not the only thing that annoyed me, though – from the moment I got there, they only talked about people and things I didn’t know, including American Horror Story and some obscure Korean film they didn’t name. So I didn’t have anything to contribute and they didn’t seem to make any effort to include me in the conversation. I spent most of the time wondering what I was doing there… But happy with my ‘new’ hair!

Goals update

Now, for something more positive, here is the latest sheet I added to my tracking workbook:

Daily goals tracker

It’s quite early to be sharing results as we’re only 5 days into October, so don’t pay attention to the numbers and only on the layout. Not that my Excel workbook wasn’t complex enough, but I felt like something was missing – namely, an overview of my day and overall progress. I can’t figure out how I didn’t think about it earlier! This just might turn out to be the motivator I needed.

As usual, not all goals are getting the same level of attention, but I’m more optimistic than ever – and having everything in one place is already proving helpful. This morning, I:

  1. ‘accidentally’ got up shortly after 6 am,
  2. read two chapters of a novel in German (Tschick) in about 25 minutes,
  3. read blog articles in Spanish for about 15 minutes,
  4. did crunches, push-ups and squats for almost 20 minutes,
  5. translated a green paper on defence technology for over 2 hours –

all before my September out-of-bed-time average of 10:21 am. Let’s just say that was incredibly satisfying.

After that, I took care of a few things around the apartment, wasted a lot of time taking care of my hair, joined my friends for lunch – and got in nearly 5,000 steps in the process. In the afternoon, I was too tired to get any work done and chose to relax, rest, and blog. Hopefully I will be more productive this evening after a short walk to get the remaining 1,300 steps in – and probably a bit more!

2 thoughts on “Small joys and disappointments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Report #010 – Things are looking up | Keeping Track

  2. I’m sure you look fresh with your new hair cut! I’m sorry your friends didn’t notice the change – sometimes we’re too wrapped up with ourselves that we forget to pay attention to what’s going on outside.
    And, as always, your Excel looks so neat!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

