Weekly Report #010 – Things are looking up

And I hope it’ll last

The activity report form is a blessing but these reports still take me much longer than they should, so I’m open to suggestions to speed up the process. This week was better than the last on all accounts, expect maybe for my social life as I got to spend time with friends again but can’t say I enjoyed all of our time together. I’m really happy with my progress, though, and hope it will continue!

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 0:20 am and 3:57 am – 1:41 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 6:10 am and 1:30 pm – 9:45 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 3h04 and 11h51 – 8h04 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 1h04 and 6h06 – 3h51 on average

So on average, I went to bed and got up earlier, and spending less time in bed didn’t prevent me from spending more time actually sleeping. Now that‘s the kind of result I like! I still need to convince myself that it’s OK, my to-do list will still be here in the morning, and that I feel better when I get up early and have more time to focus on my goals, but I’m getting better at it.

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 55,146
Average: 7,878 steps per day
Best day: Thursday with 8,649 steps
Days I reached my 7,500-step super goal: 5
Days I reached my 6,000-step backup goal: 4
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 0
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 4
Total time exercising: 1h07
Crunches: 800
Push-ups: 260
Squats: 320

Best week ever! “Sadly” in terms of exercising (I should aim for hour-long sessions, not an hour a week) but definitely in terms of walking. Sure, I took more steps two weeks ago, but this week was better because I consistently took between 7,158 and 8,649 steps a day on my own just for the sake of reaching my daily step goal. At first I only wanted to reach 6,000 steps, but at some point I started aiming for 7,500 steps with a “backup goal” of 6,000 steps.

So where do I walk? It depends. Most days I go to a nearby parc that I discovered about a month ago. Others I go to the quay and walk along the water for a while, then make a detour via the university before I go home. I can also do both. There are also a few shorter routes that I can take in addition to those longer ones. I take about 100 steps a minute so I aim for hour-long walks and see where that leads me.

Weight

Weight change: -0.5 kg New weight loss goal: -21.5 kg

There was no yo-yoing this week and I reached a weight loss goal of -20.6 kg on the last day (remember the new goal above takes into account the average of the weights recorded this week) so I’m really hopeful for next week.

Mental and physical states

Mental state: 0 awesome, 3 happy, 0 OK, 0 sad
Positive factors: Goals achieved (2)
Negative factors: None
Physical state: 0 awesome, 1 good, 2 OK, 0 bad
Positive factors: Exercising (2)
Negative factors: Bad sleep (2)

Leisure

Social life

Friends I interacted with in person: 6
Days I spent time with friends: 3
Friends I interacted with on Skype: 2
Days I skyped with friends: 2

On Saturday, a friend and his ex dragged me from the comfort of my home to a chocolate and gastronomy festival. It really wasn’t worth the price – €4 to see 15-20 vendors – and I didn’t enjoy it a bit. In fact, since then, I just can’t stand his ex as she said some things about him that I thought showed how selfish she is. It’s obvious that she’s going to hurt him and she’s already putting the blame on him for that. At least joining them motivated me to go for a walk afterwards despite the rain since I was already outside.

On Monday, I joined friends for lunch and felt completely out of place, as I already explained. Monday was much better as I visiting temp agencies with a friend and we later joined another friend for hot chocolates. It was a lonelier week that the last one but I didn’t mind it. Maybe it’s even better that way as I was disappointed on two days out of three.

Entertainment

Total time spent watching series/films: 9 hours
Average time spent watching series/films: 1.3 hours a day
Total time spent browsing the web/blogging: 14.25 hours
Average time spent browsing the web/blogging: 2 hours a day

As planned, I watched between 0.5 and 2 episodes a day – 10 and 20-minute episodes don’t count as whole episodes! I only watch one episode of Revenge for a change and reconnected with “superhero” series such as Agents of SHIELD, Arrow and The Flash. I think I like Heroes Reborn more than the original series but I’m not sure how long I’ll keep watching it. I started Con Man and like it – I don’t find it amazing but I love Alan Tudyk. I also watched Brooklyn99, Modern Family, Chasing Life and Switched at Birth so it was varied. I obviously didn’t log all the time I spent on the computer so I don’t know why I keep doing it – maybe some day it will become a habit.

Language learning

German: 5h56 spent
Speaking: 1h16 in 2 Skype calls
Listening: –
Reading: 18,496 words
Writing: –
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 5h15 spent
Speaking: –
Listening: 32mn
Reading: 15,417 words
Writing: –
Translating: –
Vocabulary: 30 words

That’s more like it! I haven’t written anything and that sucks but it was much better than last week, wasn’t it? In German, I now read Tschick every day – every night when I go to bed and sometimes when I just feel like it. In Spanish, I keep reading articles on Yorokobu most days.

For next week, I am setting myself a mini goal of writing 100 words a day. That’s nothing, but hopefully those 100 – well, 700 – words will lead to longer texts. I may share them on this blog from time to time – or all at once.

Work

Actual work

Translation: 9,859 words in 8h59 / 12 sessions
Proofreading:
Transcribing:
Formatting:

That’s not 1,666 translated words a day yet but I’m getting there. I absolutely need to proofread all the texts I have translated but it requires much more focus and translating is more appealing… But I have finally finished translating all the documents I had selected, so it’s clearly time I began proofreading them!

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 0
Potential clients/employers met in person: 6
Assignments/jobs considered: 0
Assignments/jobs applied for: 0
Professional website: 50% ready
Pages written: 8 / 15
Pages ready: 7 / 15
Portfolio: 50% ready
Texts translated: 9 / 9
Texts ready: 0 / 9

The number of potential clients/employers met in person is actually the number of temp agencies I visited with my friend. Not all of them took my CV but that’s still an effort on my end, right? *sigh* There’s a professional fair on Wednesday so my goal is to finish my website by then – maybe not completely but at least all pages + three documents for my portfolio. That sounds a bit too ambitious but I have to try, right?

6 thoughts on “Weekly Report #010 – Things are looking up

  1. I can imagine that this takes a lot of effort/ compile! I admire your persistence. Maybe, instead of writing the details, you could share a screenshot of the diagram/ chart/ your Excel sheets? With colour-coding – bearing in mind that some of your readers may not be able to discern some colours, of course. Just a thought :) Well done on keeping up with the weekly reports!

    Like

    • Thanks – I can really use some encouragements today!

      You’re right, screenshots would make things easier, but it’s actually the commenting part that takes too much time. Maybe I should automatize comments – e.g. “Better than last week. Good girl.” / “Worse than last week. What the hell am I doing?” but I think it would make me lose interest in these reports!

      Like

Let me know what you think!

