Weekly Report #011 – Keeping up the good walk

Among other things

Yet another weekly report after six days without post… Sorry about that. Unfortunately, I have choices to make every day regarding the way I spend my time and if there is a choice to be made between blogging and going out or blogging and studying Spanish, I have to choose the latter. Anyway, I can’t really say whether this week is or isn’t better than the last, but I’m fine with that as both weeks’ reports were pretty satisfying.

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 11:48 pm and 2:37 am – 1:19 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 7:05 am and 1:19 pm – 9:51 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 5h25 and 10h47 – 8h31 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 2h21 and 5h27 – 3h42 on average

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 53,097
Average: 7,585 steps per day
Best day: Tuesday with 10,308 steps
Days I reached my 7,500-step super goal: 6
Days I reached my 6,000-step backup goal: 0
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 1
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 2
Total time exercising: 39mn
Crunches: 400
Push-ups: 110
Squats: 120

I didn’t go out yesterday so I took little over 52,000 steps in 6 days compared with 55,000 steps in 7 days last week. That’s pretty cool. Well, I could have had a 58 or even 60,000-step week if I hadn’t skipped yesterday, but I needed a break. It’s getting cold here, finally, and I wonder how long it will be until I give up my evening walks because of it. I seem to have taken a longer break from actual exercise, though, which isn’t good.

Weight

Weight change: -0.5 kg New weight loss goal: -21 kg

Leisure

Social life

Friends I interacted with in person: 23
Days I spent time with friends: 4
Friends I interacted with on Skype: 2
Days I skyped with friends: 2

One of my friends is away for an undefined number of days so I had to see her before she left. Another isn’t feeling great this day so I joined him on a day when I wasn’t feeling great either and we managed to have a rather enjoyable time despite that. I also attended a “polyglot event” that ended up being all about providing foreigners with a weekly opportunity to practise French, which was pretty disappointing to me as I clearly expected to hear English, Spanish, Italian, maybe German, etc. Finally, there was a work event I mention below.

Entertainment

Total time spent watching series/films: 5.75 hours
Average time spent watching series/films: 0.82 hours a day

I was thrilled to find out that Fresh Off the Boat is back for a second season. I find the dialogues really funny and am a huge fan of Constance Wu’s character Jessica Huang. Also, last week I forgot to mention that I finally watched Begin Again with Mark Ruffalo and Keira Knightley and found it really sweet.

Language learning

German: 6h39 spent
Speaking: 39mn in 1 Skype calls
Listening: 39mn
Reading: 15,179 words
Writing: 1,474 words
Translating: 109 words
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 4h07 spent
Speaking: –
Listening: 22mn
Reading: 8,391 words
Writing: 711 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

Last week I said I would try to write 700 words a day in both German and Spanish and I’m glad to write that I succeeded. While I read much faster in Spanish than I do in German, I’m afraid it’s the opposite when it comes to writing, as I have to look up many more words and check all non-present-tense conjugations in Spanish. I also spoke a bit of German during one of the speed dating sessions (see below) but that was only for two minutes or so.

Work

Actual work

Translation: 3,527 words in 3h13 / 5 sessions
Proofreading:

Transcribing:
Formatting:

I found a few new texts to work on, but as I already explained, my heart wasn’t really into it this week. The 50,000-word goal was definitely too ambitious.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 1
Potential clients/employers met in person: 15
Assignments/jobs considered: 1
Assignments/jobs applied for: 1
Professional website: 50% ready
Pages written: 8 / 15
Pages ready: 7 / 15
Portfolio: 50% ready
Texts translated: 9 / 9
Texts ready: 0 / 9

On Wednesday, I attended a companies’ fair (or whatever it’s called) with a friend and took part in about fifteen 5-minute “speed dating” sessions for entrepreneurs. It was exactly what I needed to meet people who might be interested in my services. Unfortunately, I wasn’t the only translator to have this idea and I eventually left because there were too many translators around (at least 4).

One of them might become a colleague, we’ll see. I’m not really confident that any of the people I met are ever going to hire me, but I think our conversations got them thinking about their translation needs, so who knows? Some of them were already considering having their websites or other materials translated so I’ll have to e-mail them next week. Unfortunately my website hasn’t moved a bit.

Let me know what you think!

