Weekly Report #013 – Back from the dead

and exhilarated

I can’t emphasize enough how pleased I am with this week’s results. Of course, after what happened last week (I was sick and had no motivation), this week had to be better, but it isn’t just that: this is, work aside, my best week so far. Taking an “official” break from work seems to have been a good idea, relieving the pressure I put on myself and giving me more mental space and energy to focus on other, personal-but-no-less-important goals. I am so pleased to be able to end October on such a positive note!

On a completely unrelated note, and in an unexpected and unforeseeable turn of events, my boyfriend is coming home today. Not in December, nor in November, TODAY! And he won’t be leaving again for several months! I couldn’t be happier! This shouldn’t come as a surprise, though: of course after such a good week he has to come back and take an active part in messing up my stats! (just kidding… I hope)

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 10:40 pm and 1:26 am – 11:54 pm on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 7:34 am and 1:04 pm – 9:50 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 6h08 and 14h24 – 9h56 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 2h17 and 6h24 – 4h19 on average

Oh my. This is the very first time that my “time of tracker activation” average is BEFORE midnight. The earliest before that was 0:46 am. That’s saying something! This week, I went to bed much earlier than usual and read between maybe 15 and 45 minutes before turning off the lights and activating my tracker, which I did before midnight on four days. As a result, I woke up twice after noon but between 7:34 am and 9:56 the other five days – which means I got plenty of time to do everything I wanted and needed to. Including…

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 56,498
Average: 8,071 steps per day
Best day: Sunday with 10,367 steps
Days I reached my 7,500-step super goal: 4
Days I reached my 6,000-step backup goal: 2
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 0
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 4
Total time exercising: 2h21
Skipping rope: 37mn
Crunches: 840
Arms misc.: 620
Squats: 300

I would like to point out that I reached 10,000 steps on THREE days this week. That’s awesome. After all, that’s the number I would like to eventually reach every day! I’m really starting to feel the effects of walking / exercising: my breathing has improved, I keep losing weight, and it is definitely easier on my body.

A friend told me she was skipping rope maybe twice a week and I decided to give it a try. The first few tries were a bit discouraging as I couldn’t jump more than three times in a row without the rope hitting my calves, but I quickly got better and can now jump 40 times in a row. I won’t do hour-long sessions like my friend does – no wonder her whole body hurts for days after that! I’m happy with a few 5-minute sessions throughout the day, at least for now.

I also started doing other exercises to tone my arms, using water bottles as weights. I can already feel some benefits as push-ups are getting much easier and I can now move my arms more freely (if that makes any sense). Crunches and squats are also getting easier. I don’t even dread exercising any more. Also, my fitness sessions are getting longer – about 40 minutes – so yey! Next Monday I will exercise with a friend for the first time, and I hope to convince my boyfriend to keep working on his pecs!

Weight

Weight change: -0.8 kg New weight loss goal: -19.4 kg

Leisure

Social life

Friends I interacted with in person: 3
Days I spent time with friends: 3
Friends I interacted with on Skype: 2
Days I skyped with friends: 2

On Sunday I went for a long walk hoping to reach a friend’s home and say hello. Unfortunately, as I had never walked there before and couldn’t remember the itinerary by car or bus, I got completely lost and had to ask her to check Google Maps for me. Her directions weren’t clear and I got lost some more but eventually found her house again. What was supposed to be 40-minute walk ended up taking me about twice that. It was great for my step count but this was a really weird experience. I eventually took the bus home so I now know how to get there – at least I think I do.

On Thursday I met with a friend who is going through a rough time. It broke my heart to see him in a state of hopelessness and helplessness I had never seen him in before. Hopefully, since then, he has made an important discovery about his family that gives him something to focus on. I am meeting with him again on Sunday and Monday and hope to find him in better shape.

Entertainment

Total time spent watching series/films: 11.25 hours
Average time spent watching series/films: 1.6 hours a day

I did two short, 3-hour-or-so Revenge marathons on the weekend but was much more reasonable after that. As usual, Brooklyn Nine-Nine made me laugh, and Switched at Birth was enjoyable. But more importantly, this was a great week for superhero series:

  • I really liked the pilot of Supergirl and can’t wait to see more!
  • I can’t get over the giant shark man on The Flash, I am so glad they showed him eventually!
  • I loved Arrow as usual and am eager to find out what part John Constantine is going to play in it (probably going to help with Sara – I hope he sticks around for a long, long while).
  • Dedicating a whole episode of Agents of SHIELD to a story involving only ONE member of the cast (and focusing on only TWO characters) was a bold move, and I was completely OK with that. I wasn’t a fan of Gemma but I had a great time regardless. [SPOILER ALERT] I was a bit disappointed that a man-woman relationship had to lead to romance, but they were basically the only two people on a desert planet, so I get how this would bring them closer.
  • Even my least favourite, Heroes Reborn, the show I don’t really care about, had a satisfying flashback episode. There were a lot of silly things but at least now we have more context regarding the backstory of Zachary Levi’s character, and it was a relief not having to watch Katana Girl and her gamer pal (which meant no ugly in-game scenes).

Language learning

German: 10h37 spent
Speaking: 1h07 in 2 Skype calls
Listening: 3h17
Reading: 23,993 words
Writing: 531 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 8h38 spent
Speaking: 48mn in 1 Skype calls
Listening: 2h51
Reading: 16,415 words
Writing: 712 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

Yep, you read that right – these aren’t my stats for the month, nor is there any mistake. I told you getting up early gave me more time – so of course I used it to keep and catch up with my language goals. I watched many Easy German videos, the first few episodes of Grace and Frankie in German, and videos by Andrés N and Cine PREMIERE in Spanish.

Since I read in bed every night or so, I finished Tschick, the novel I was reading in German. Now I understand why so many people liked it – it really was an enjoyable read. I immediately ordered a novel a friend recommended – it is actually a French novel but I ordered the German translation – and will probably make it my goal to finish it by November 30, assuming it isn’t too long.

Work

Yesterday I met with another translator I met at the professional event I attended two weeks ago. I look forward to working with her as soon as one of us takes on a project that requires (or allows for) the other’s involvement. But I really liked her as a person too! It didn’t hurt that we spoke both French and English, although it felt a bit weird as I seem to sound too American to British people and too British to American people. I need a German accent. Anyway, this was a really motivating encounter and I can’t wait to see her again next Thursday.

Let me know what you think!

