Weekly Report #014 – Looking good

I mean, you know, statswise

This month, I am getting rid of two categories, “Social life” and “Entertainment”, as they don’t worry me anymore. This has been a really good week for me, both in terms of goals and otherwise, although the usual issues remain – when will I finally make work my priority? There are only ten days to go before I leave for Paris so I really want to make some progress on my website next week, even if it means falling behind in other areas.

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 10:16 pm and 1:16 am – 0:01 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 5:30 am and 9:01 am – 7:10 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 5h20 and 9h19 – 7h09 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 2h15 and 4h46 – 3h17 on average

Yes! This is finally happening! I am becoming an early riser! Well, not that early, but I have made huge progress this week. I was afraid that my partner’s return would mean we would consistently go to bed after midnight and I would sleep in every morning, but this is actually the opposite. He has agreed to going to bed early to support me – earlier than we used to anyway – and this is clearly helping. Well, he got sick right after he came back so I also have his sickness to thank for it, but I am sure that he would very much like to stay up a few hours longer and play video games, so really, I am grateful.

As a consequence, I was able to get up much earlier than usual, either right after he got up to go to work – so between 7 am and 7:30 am – or even earlier, and the one time I “slept in”, I still got up at 9 am. And it felt good! I didn’t wake up with energy in excess, but I didn’t feel tired, my body didn’t hurt, and I love having breakfast with my partner before he leaves, which used to only happen in late morning or early afternoon on Saturdays or Sundays. So really, that was great.

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 59,552
Average: 8,507 steps per day
Best day: Saturday with 11,329 steps
Days I reached my 7,000-step goal: 6
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 0
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 4
Total time exercising: 1h56
Skipping rope: 20mn
Crunches: 600
Arms misc.: 640
Squats: 300

Having raised my daily step goal by 1,000 steps this month, I didn’t expect to beat it by 1,500 steps on average. This is nice! The four 30-minute-or-so exercising sessions felt great too.

Weight

Weight change: -0.6 kg New weight loss goal: -18.8 kg

Leisure

Language learning

German: 7h18 spent
Speaking: 2h34 in 4 Skype calls
Listening: 43.5mn
Reading: 2,697 words
Writing: 867 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 5h41 spent
Speaking: 6mn in 1 Skype call
Listening: 1h18
Reading: 6,309 words
Writing: 987 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

I am making efforts and progress on the writing front with the “yesterday, today, tomorrow” formula: most days, I write what I did the previous day, what I will do (if I write in the morning) or have done (when writing in the evening) the present day, and what I have planned for the next day. Some days I have “Ayer, hoy, mañana” and “Gestern, heute, morgen” but I usually write about one or two days in German and about the other two or one in Spanish. Writing in Spanish still takes ages but it gets easier.

As one of my goals for this week is to find new language partners so I can get more speaking practice in Spanish, I got in touch with 7 people on italki and The Mixxer. So far, only three of them have replied: one declined my offer, the other added me on Skype but hasn’t written me back yet, and the third said she would add me but hasn’t done so yet. I hope to hear from them this weekend so we can schedule at least one call for next week.

In the meantime, I only managed to speak Spanish for 6 minutes. I had been talking with one of my German partners for nearly 2 hours when we decided to switch to Spanish, and my partner texted me only 5 minutes after that to let me know he was leaving work and I could pick him up, so I had to leave. It’s OK, we’ll speak again on Thursday. A friend from France is also supposed to call me on Monday so we can practise Spanish and English, as she speaks the former fluently and needs to work on the latter.

Work

Actual work

Translation:
Proofreading: 2,615 words in 4h38 / 7 sessions

Transcribing:
Formatting:

I finally started proofreading the first text for my portfolio. At first I spent forever on each sentence and had a hard time focusing, but things are looking up. I average at 564 words an hour, with over 700 words an hour during my best sessions. This may sound slow but I have a lot of things to check and the next read-through will go much faster this way. I am trying to get into a routine of proofreading first thing in the morning, I hope to be better at it next week.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 0
Potential clients/employers met in person: 22
Assignments/jobs considered: 0
Assignments/jobs applied for: 0
Professional website: 50% ready
Pages written: 8 / 15
Pages ready: 7 / 15
Portfolio: 50% ready
Texts translated: 10 / 10
Texts ready: 0 / 10

On Thursday, I attended another professional event with the translator I had met briefly at the first one (mid-October) and seen again last Friday. We had only planned to go together but ended up introducing ourselves together to over twenty people as if we had been working together for a while. Thanks to her reassuring presence and relative ease, I was able to approach people I most certainly wouldn’t have otherwise.

I expected to just stand next to her with a terrified look on my face as she did most of the talking, but I actually took an active part in these introductions and didn’t (seem to) scare anyone off. Unfortunately, we had to leave early as she had an appointment shortly after noon, so we weren’t able to meet with all of the people we wanted to see, but this was still a promising experience. Now I need to learn to do this on my own.

One thought on “Weekly Report #014 – Looking good

  1. Pingback: Weekly Report #015 and thoughts on Friday 13th | Keeping Track

Let me know what you think!

