Weekly Report #016 – My first real vacation…

… Since I started this project

The week began rather well as I managed to catch up with my Spanish ‘time goal’, getting some speaking practice despite two cancellations, and working on follow-up e-mails with my new colleague. Once I left for Paris, though, I was out of control: I barely practised any German or Spanish, didn’t do any exercise – at least I walked! – and didn’t work on anything beside the said e-mails. I guess that’s what a real vacation is supposed to look like.

I had hoped to get more done before I left to make up for what I wouldn’t be able to do while I was away, but that didn’t work. And since I am writing this on the Thursday after the date of this post, I can add that I wasn’t able to catch up with my goals in the days that followed my return either. With only a few days to go before December, I am really starting to worry about my goals… Let’s see how I did this week.

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 11:25 pm and 1:40 am – 0:39 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 9:00 am and 10:05 am – 9:26 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 8h05 and 9h35 – 8h46 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 3h07 and 5h11 – 3h59 on average

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 44,418
Average: 6,345 steps per day
Best day: Thursday with 8,567 steps
Days I reached my 7,000-step goal: 5
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): –
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 2
Total time exercising: 42mn
Skipping rope: –
Crunches: 200
Arms misc.: 440
Squats: –

I don’t know what happened this week. Things were going so well, but with the weather getting worse and my partner being sick again, I guess I was less motivated to walk and exercise. I am not worried about reaching my step goal – although I don’t yet know whether I will be able to beat my step count for October – but the last few days of this month are going to be exhausting if I am serious about reaching my fitness goal as I still have 2h20 of exercising left!

Weight

Weight change: -0.7 kg New weight loss goal: -18.4 kg

Leisure

Language learning

German: 3h40 spent
Speaking: 30mn in 1 Skype call
Listening: 1h41
Reading: 2,617 words
Writing: 361 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 5h35 spent
Speaking: 1h02 in 1 Skype call
Listening: 2h10
Reading: 6,106 words
Writing: 425 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

The Spanish woman I was supposed to Skype with last Thursday didn’t show up on Sunday either – this time without any heads-up or apology. A few more people added me on Skype but I wasn’t able to make plans to speak with them before I left. My goal to skype with three new Spanish partners this month seems doomed, but it should be easier to do in December with all these new contacts. On the bright side, this week I managed to spend more time on Spanish than German for once, and discovered new telenovelas on Viki.

I am considering gathering more detailed stats with information on the type of content I read, listen to, or write about, i.e. books vs blogs vs news articles, podcasts vs Youtube vs TV series, emails vs chatting vs journal entries, etc. Maybe next month?

Work

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 11
Potential clients/employers met in person:
Assignments/jobs considered:
Assignments/jobs applied for:
Professional website: 56.6% ready
Pages written: 9 / 15
Pages ready: 8 / 15
Portfolio: 55% ready
Texts translated: 10 / 10
Texts ready: 1 / 10

Apart from those emails, I didn’t do anything. I mean, I worked on my website a bit, but I didn’t finish any new page, so it didn’t count. No “actual work” either. And next week won’t be any better… But next month, who knows?

One thought on “Weekly Report #016 – My first real vacation…

  1. Pingback: Weekly Report #017 – Vacation, part 2 | Keeping Track

Let me know what you think!

