Monthly Report #04 – November in review…

…with hopes and goals for December

Last month’s report was the first one to have charts showing my progress throughout October. I thought they turned out great and would love to do some for November as well, but they took me forever and I don’t have as much time to dedicate to today’s post. Maybe I’ll add them later, though. Anyway, on to report #04…

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 10:16 pm and 2:25 am – 0:29 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 5:20 am and 10:45 am – 8:54 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 5h20 and 12h12 – 8h24 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 1h59 and 6h13 – 4h00 on average

November goal: get up before 09:30 am on average

Remember this quote from last month: “I now live (on average) one hour earlier”? Well, it still applies. I activated and deactivated my tracker about an hour earlier than last month, i.e. two hours earlier than in August. So of course I reached my goal!

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this month: 224,192
Average: 7,473 steps per day
Best day: November 9th with 18,181 steps
Days I reached my 7,000-step goal: 21
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): 1
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 14
Total time exercising: 5h30
Skipping rope: 23mn
Crunches: 1,760
Arms misc.: 2,440
Squats: 780

November goals: take 210,000 steps (7,000 a day) and exercise for 7 hours (14mn a day)

I am a bit conflicted about these results. I reached my step goal but didn’t beat last month’s step count nor daily average although I certainly would have if not for a blister that made walking very difficult for the last three days of November – furthermore November had one less day than October to contribute steps to my overall count although I could have beaten my daily average regardless.

On the fitness side of things, similar comments can be made. I failed to reach my exercising goal and spent less time exercising than last month but I can blame it on my vacation since I certainly would have reached my goal had I been at home although nothing prevented me from exercising while I was staying with my best friend.

Weight

Weight change: no change this month / -4.8 kg total New weight loss goal: -19.2 kg

So let’s see. August: -2.4kg; September: no change; October: -2.9kg; November: no change. I don’t expect to lose much weight (or any weight at all) in December, but I wouldn’t mind if this trend continued. It isn’t that my weight didn’t change at all in September and November, but whenever I lost some weight, I regained it because of my poor discipline (and love for burgers).

No matter how well I eat, most (if not all) of the weight I managed to lose in the first three weeks of December will probably be regained at the end of the month, so it is especially important that I lose some before the holidays.

Leisure

Social life

Friends I interacted with in person: 48
Days I spent time with friends: 17
Friends I interacted with on Skype: 4
Days I skyped with friends: 12

As usual, the “friends” I interacted with in person comprised any person I had a meaningful interaction with, including potential clients. With that week in Paris, I expected to have spent more days with friends in person and less time on Skype, so I’m a bit surprised that it wasn’t the case.

Entertainment

Total time spent watching series/films: 33.95 hours
Average time spent watching series/films: 1.13 hours a day

November goal: watch TV for less than 45 hours (1h30 a day)

Not only did I reach this goal, I gained 10 hours of freedom from TV as compared with last month. Well… In theory. To be honest, I didn’t count all of the time I spent watching TV, although I tried to. My best friend likes to leave the TV on to help fall asleep – one thing she has in common with my mother, it seems – so I watched a few episodes of fashion and cooking shows without meaning to.

Language learning

German: 25h35 spent
Speaking: 6h17 in 11 Skype calls
Listening: 5h43
Reading: 19,089 words
Writing: 3,224 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 20h57 spent
Speaking: 2h30 in 4 Skype calls
Listening: 6h57
Reading: 18,308 words
Writing: 3,032 words
Translating: 799 words
Vocabulary: –

November goals: practise languages for 45 hours (1h30 a day) and write 6,000 words (200 words a day)
+ German: read 210 pages of Gott reist immer incognito (7 pages a day)
+ Spanish: skype with three new language partners and speak once a week

This month, there was more speaking, more listening, far less reading but more writing. My efforts were also better divided between both languages, despite fewer Skype calls in Spanish. I reached my common goals with 46h32 of study and 6,256 words written but failed at the other two because I (a) didn’t like the book and needed a break after the first few chapters (so I only read 61 pages), and (b) am cursed.

I mean, come on! I got in touch with 14 potential Spanish speaking partners on italki and The Mixxer, six of whom added me on Skype, two of whom set a date and time to skype with me. I also scheduled a call with a French friend who speaks fluent Spanish. None of these calls happened: my friend cancelled because she was sick; one of the women from Spain cancelled because she couldn’t log in to Skype, asked to reschedule and didn’t show up the second time (I haven’t heard from her since); and the other one didn’t show up because of her job (but later apologized).

On the bright side, my Spanish-speaking German friend showed up every time and was always happy to practise Spanish with me. I don’t know what I would have done without her. Also, I have two new German partners and one of them offered to practise Spanish as well. Let’s just hope this curse gets lifted soon!

Work

Actual work

Translation:
Proofreading: 12,771 words in 8h53 / 14 sessions
Transcribing:
Formatting: ?? pages in 0h59 / 2 sessions

Well… At least I proofread one text for my portfolio. *sighs* I mean, give me some work and I’ll do it, whether it is paid or not, but doing it for myself is an entirely different thing.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 11
Potential clients/employers met in person: 22
Assignments/jobs considered: 5
Assignments/jobs applied for: 1
Professional website: +6.6% => 56.6% ready
Pages written: +1 => 9 / 15
Pages ready: +1 => 8 / 15
Portfolio: +5% => 55% ready
Texts translated: 10 / 10
Texts ready: +1 => 1 / 10

November goals: finish my professional website (15 pages) and proofread my portfolio (10 texts)

Grr. Argh. Well, I’m making progress on the marketing front, aren’t I? I intend to keep at it, meeting with potential clients as often as I can and sending out emails on a daily basis to professionals and companies I would like to work with, like I should have started doing months ago. Better late than never, right?

Goals for December

Since I am taking another vacation to spend Christmas (and probably New Year’s Eve) near Paris, I have decided to set goals for the first three weeks of December instead of the whole month. If I can keep working toward my goals after that, great, but I won’t be disappointed if I can’t get practise German and Spanish or fail to get up early during the holidays.

Health:

  • Sleep: get up before 09:00 am on average
  • Exercising: take 157,500 steps (7,500 a day) and exercise for 5h15 hours (15mn a day)

Leisure:

  • Entertainment: watch TV for less than 21 hours (1h a day)
  • Language learning: practise languages for 33 hours (1h a day Monday through Friday + 3h every Saturday and Sunday) and write 4,200 words (200 words a day)
  • Spanish: skype with three new language partners and speak once a week

Work:

  • Actual work: proofread 30,000 words (2,000 a day Monday through Friday) and translate 12,000 words (2,000 every Saturday and Sunday)
  • Client/job hunt: contact 30 potential clients (2 a day Monday through Friday) and apply for 6 jobs (2 every Saturday and Sunday)
  • Marketing: finish my professional website (15 pages, 6 to go) and proofread my portfolio (10 texts, 9 to go)

It didn’t seem so bad until I wrote them down. Well, we’ll see how it goes – maybe I’ll adjust my goals next week once I have given them a try. I don’t trust myself to reach them all but I will give them my best shot.

Let me know what you think!

