Weekly Report #019 – Antepenultimate report

“third-to-last” doesn’t have that mysterious vibe

This week: a new tracker, more steps, less languages, more work. I am considering putting an end to weekly reports – with only monthly reports – to get back to a more “normal” posting format. The last 11 articles on this blog were reports; I haven’t posted anything else in two months. I would like to go back to prompts and challenges, to sharing meaningless and meaningful things that happen to me. I want to finally launch that “Travel Tuesdays” series. And I need to find a way to do it that won’t take too much time and won’t get in the way of my goals. Also, I need to start thinking about my goals for next year. But for now…

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 11:56 pm and 1:17 am – 0:26 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 6:32 am and 10:40 am – 8:54 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 5h36 and 10h23 – 8h28 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 3h06 and 5h26 – 4h22 on average

I got up early (between 6:30 and 7:30 am) for three days in a row, which is great, but only got up after 10:00 am on the other four, which might be OK on a weekend but that’s it. So basically, same as last week.

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 53,759
Average: 7,680 steps per day
Best day: Tuesday with 13,320 steps
Days I reached my 7,500-step goal: 4
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): –
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 5
Total time exercising: 1h47
Skipping rope: –
Crunches: 660
Arms misc.: 780
Squats: 420

My partner gave me my Christmas present early this year so that I could make the most of it: a Fitbit Charge wristband! Yey! Now I don’t have to make crazy calculations in my head to estimate how many steps I have taken and still have to take based on five LEDs – I can just press a button to find out! For months I had been telling myself that the Flex was enough and I didn’t need anything fancier, but I was wrong. I needed the Charge, I just didn’t know it yet.

There is a tiny problem, though. Since there was no point in wearing both trackers, I gave the Flex to my partner, who now wears it every day. And he spends so much time standing and walking at work that he gets thousands of steps in without trying. As I work from home and sit in front of my computer all day, my only way to reach my goal step is to go for a walk just for the sake of it and mostly on my own.

So at first I kept trying to meet my goal and went “the extra step” to compete with him, but after four days, I sort of gave up. I guess competition has this effect on me. Knowing that he will reach my step goal day after day without trying, whereas I have to dedicate timeslots to walking and can’t do anything meaningful while I do – especially not working – seems unfair and discourages me.

So next week I need to remind myself that I can’t define my success in terms of what other people are doing and that the only person I should compete with is myself. And in this regard, this was a good week – I reached my goals of 7,500 steps and 15 minutes of exercising a day on average. Also, I’m finally doing more squats!

Weight

Weight change: -0.3 kg New weight loss goal: -18.4 kg

Leisure

Language learning

German: 8h54 spent
Speaking: 2h33 in 5 Skype calls
Listening: 1h23
Reading: –
Writing: 496 words
Translating: 807 words
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 4h08 spent
Speaking: 22mn in 1 Skype call
Listening: 8.5mn
Reading: 6,855 words
Writing: 475 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

This week I skyped with a new partner for German and Spanish, a German guy living in Mexico who’s learning French. It was a bit odd at first because French is his weakest language and he had some trouble expressing himself – which is completely normal as he isn’t used to it. But once we switched to Spanish, and later German, he was able to reveal more of his personality and was clearly more at ease. It reminded me of the idea that if you really want to get to know someone, you have to talk to them in their language. Not that I really know him after one hour on Skype, of course!

Work

Actual work

Translation: 1,261 words in 3h07 / 3 sessions
Proofreading: 4,006 words in 5h30 / 8 sessions

Transcribing:
Formatting:

In addition to the text I translated from German into French, I translated two samples from French into English and proofread another French sample for a potential client. Proofreading definitely took me way more time than it should have, but I really wanted everything to be perfect. I’m still nowhere near that 2,000-words-a-day goal, though.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 6
Potential clients/employers met in person: 1
Assignments/jobs considered:
Assignments/jobs applied for:
Professional website: 56.6% ready
Pages written: 9 / 15
Pages ready: 8 / 15
Portfolio: 55% ready
Texts translated: 10 / 10
Texts ready: 1 / 10

This week I took small steps toward getting over my fear of phonecalls with potential clients. One wasn’t interested, the other two were either in a meeting or in a car and said I should call them back on Monday. It was stressful and my hands were shaking but nothing bad happened, right? The highlight of the week was a 4-hour meeting with the potential client I mentioned in my last report. I want to work with him so badly it’s unhealthy – if I don’t get the job, I’m going to be crushed. So let’s hope I do!

Let me know what you think!

