Weekly Report #020 – Away on holiday I go

But first, one last report

As I announced in my previous post, this is likely to be the last weekly report, or at least the last report to take this shape. Over the holidays, I intend to rethink not only my goals and the best ways for me to reach them, but also my tracking spreadsheets and reporting method. I would like to come up with a ‘reporting spreadsheet’ that gives me an overview of a day, week or month by inputting just two parameters – start and end dates. In the meantime…

Health

Sleep

Time of tracker activation: between 0:10 am and 1:40 am – 0:51 am on average
Time of tracker deactivation: between 7:15 am and 10:44 am – 9:02 am on average
Time spent in bed: between 6h24 and 9h31 – 8h11 on average
Time spent sleeping: between 3h08 and 5h53 – 4h04 on average

Basically the same as last week and the one before that.

Exercising

Steps:
Total steps this week: 58,542
Average: 8,363 steps per day
Best day: Friday with 14,547 steps
Days I reached my 7,500-step goal: 5
Days I wasn’t even close (1,000-): –
Fitness:
Days I exercised: 1
Total time exercising: 0h37
Skipping rope: –
Crunches: 200
Arms misc.: 280
Squats: 100

I beat last week’s total step count but barely exercised. Every day I tried to get as much done as I could before I had to go out to meet a friend, my boyfriend, or a client, and couldn’t – or, let’s be honest, didn’t want to – squeeze in fifteen minutes of crunches and weight lifting. I didn’t realise how often I had skipped exercising until it was too late, and now I have two days to get the two hours of exercising I need to reach my three-week goal. Well…

Weight

Weight change: +0.1 kg New weight loss goal: -18.5 kg

Leisure

Language learning

German: 9h37 spent
Speaking: 1h11 in 2 Skype calls
Listening: 13mn
Reading: 7,614 words
Writing: 918 words
Translating: 2,063 words
Vocabulary: –
Spanish: 4h35 spent
Speaking: –
Listening: 1h08
Reading: 7,404 words
Writing: 998 words
Translating: –
Vocabulary: –

Oh woaw. Did I really get that little speaking practice? That’s not even half what I did last week! I clearly made some efforts to listen to more Spanish material but barely listened to anything in German. As usual, I dedicated more time to German than Spanish, but I read and wrote nearly as many words in one language as in the other, which is great news. I also translated two texts from German into French – one about coral riffs and the other about energy storage and automotive innovation.

Work

Actual work

Translation: 2,199 words in 3h54 / 5 sessions
Proofreading: 2,225 words in 3h28 / 2 sessions

Transcribing:
Formatting:

Again, I failed at my goal, which I am used to. In addition to the two texts in German, I started translating a PowerPoint presentation for my mum and proofread two documents for my American colleague. Now I would need to start proofreading my best friend’s 34,500-word thesis. Ouch.

Marketing / Job hunt

Potential clients/employers e-mailed or called: 2
Potential clients/employers met in person: 1
Assignments/jobs considered:
Assignments/jobs applied for:
Professional website: 56.6% ready
Pages written: 9 / 15
Pages ready: 8 / 15
Portfolio: 55% ready
Texts translated: 10 / 10
Texts ready: 1 / 10

Unfortunately, the two people who asked me to call them back on Monday didn’t need my services, but they were both polite and took the time to answer my questions anyway. I probably won’t hear from them again, but who knows? Now, more importantly, the client from last week asked me to come back to talk a bit more about his project, and I’m basically hired! We haven’t signed anything yet but I’m supposed to start working for him right after the holiday. I would first proofread and improve his text generator, which should keep me busy for a month or two.

My American colleague also asked me to proofread a translation she was just commissioned to do that needs to be delivered around mid-January. If I wasn’t so afraid of jinxing myself, I would end this post by writing that things were definitely looking up. But since I am afraid, I’ll just thank you for reading this and wish you happy holidays!

Let me know what you think!

