It’s that time of the year again

Remember me? That would be surprising.

I started this blog just over a year ago as I set off on a journey of self-tracking, goal-setting and self-discovery. The latter is a bit of a stretch since my journey only lasted five months, but I did learn a few things along the way.

From August to December, I kept track of how many steps I took and how much time I slept, exercised, worked, etc. At the end of every week and month, I would gather the data I had collected and try to make sense of it, setting new goals that I would consistently fail to meet.

For a while, those numbers and reports meant everything to me, providing valuable insights. I could clearly see my weaknesses, which I thought was the first step toward overcoming them. But shortly before the new year, it became obvious that I was going about it the wrong way.

I tried to think of new things to track, new ways to present my reports and use my data, hoping to keep things interesting for me and the few readers of this blog. I looked for ways to improve the odds of me reaching my goals. Yet, at some point, I thought it best to focus on more important things.

“What could those things be?”, you might wonder; work, mostly.

The new client I mentioned in December has actually become a regular client, sending me new assignments every month and keeping me busy most weeks. I am now an integral part of his team and will hopefully join his company later this year.

In addition, I have been working with a lawyer since May, which strengthened my desire to specialize in legal translation; a journalist I had previously worked with hired me again to help with a follow-up project; and I did my first paid translations from German into French.

Reading those two paragraphs again, it feels like I am reading someone else’s blog. It is surreal.

After two years as a freelance translator, four clients may not seem like much, and I could worry about the fact that I have not worked with a translation agency in months. There are still too many gaps in my schedule, of which I should – but don’t, at least not as much as I’d like to – take advantage to seek new clients.

Still, I can’t help seeing the bright side: my clients are interesting people and very nice to work with; they answer all my questions, pay me on time – usually right after I sent them an invoice – and show their appreciation. They even recommend me whenever they meet others who could use my services.

Am I flush with cash? Nope. Am I a good marketer? Far from it – in fact, the thought of cold calling a complete stranger still makes me really uncomfortable.

But I always knew the first few years in business would be difficult, and I am pretty sure that things are better than I envisioned when I started out. Besides, September is just around the corner and, with it, plenty of opportunities to meet potential clients – as long as it’s in person, I’m in!

I didn’t mean to make this post all about work, but I haven’t made much progress in the other areas. For one thing, I have completely stopped exercising and actually regained all the weight I had lost last year. This realization was a wake-up call and the reason behind my return to this blog.

Unfortunately, I don’t practise German and Spanish as much as I used to, let alone as much as I would like to. But I finished my professional website in early April after months of procrastination and hesitation: once I figured out what I wanted to write about me and my services, it became much easier!

Again, I will need to figure out what I want to track and how to use the data to make actual, positive changes in my life. I’m not sure how I’ll use this blog, let alone how often I will write. But no matter what I manage or fail to accomplish, it will be nice to be able to compare last year’s data with this year’s!

Thank you for reading this. And if you are one of my “old” followers, a special thank you for having stuck around! Feel free to say hi in the comments and I’ll make sure to check out your blog to do the same there!

Let me know what you think!

